Blog update 28 October 2016

Blogging
I’m still very much an amateur when it comes to reviewing books online, but it’s something I very much enjoy, and it’s so great to have this platform to put together my thoughts on books I’ve been reading. I also really enjoy reading comments on my posts and sharing recommendations and opinions.

It seems I normally write posts on short story collections, and initially I really wanted to write a summary and opinion on each story in the volume – but do you think this is really necessary? It’s useful for me when trying to remember which volumes and stories I have read but I don’t know if it makes particularly interesting reading. Would it be easier to write a post that covers the book as a whole, rather than singling out individual stories?

What do you think? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I’d also like to ask if you have any tips for a new blogger like myself? Are there bookish blogging groups I’m not aware of yet? Or are there any other activities available that you could suggest?

Thanks!

Goodreads Reading Challenge 2016
I’m currently 53 books into my 60 book target for this year. Originally I thought 50 books would be a good number, but I knew my local libraries had recently stocked some interesting graphic novels that I wanted to read, so bumping the target to 60 seemed more sensible. As always, you can find me on Goodreads here.

Cheers,
Rob

4 comments

  1. the first few years of blogging can be daunting – there seems to be so much to learn about what works for you and for your readers. Only you can decide what you want it to be but there is a lot of good stuff around from other bloggers that can be helpful. The wordpress forum is good at the techie stuff. As for short story reviews, i would pick just pick a few of the ones that resonated with you most and not try to review every individual piece

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your input, I really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

  2. I think as a reader it usually works best to give an overall opinion on a collection while highlighting the stand-out stories, any that are particularly good or bad.

    As a blogger, I like being able to go back to the post to remind myself of the individual stories, so I personally don’t follow that advice. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s the dilemma I’m facing at the moment too! Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

